What the bloody hell is it?

So far I have had 3 psychiatric reviews and assessments. They have FINALLY given me a formal diagnosis to get on the right pills, having now waited for over a month. So alongside the bipolar, I also apparently have ‘borderline personality disorder’. 

I’m generally pretty good at googling and finding things out that I need to read up on…but I literally can’t find anything substantial to read about it! I get this disorder thrown on my list of things wrong and I don’t even 100% understand what it means. 

If anyone can help me, share a story with me, or potentially have a good link or book, I’d be so grateful. It’s just so damn confusing! 

5 thoughts on “What the bloody hell is it?

  1. I was originally diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder before they changed my diagnosis to Bipolar Disorder. From what I’ve read about BPD, I didn’t think it fit me, although a lot of symptoms of BPD and BP seem to overlap.

    Here’s are some common symptoms I was told / read repeatedly about Borderline Personality Disorder:

    – Very black and white thinking; for example thinking a person is either amazing and wonderful OR a terrible person, with very little middle ground
    – Fear of being abandoned by people, to the point where you drive them away
    – Have a hard time keeping relationships, and relationships are very intense
    – Impulsive behaviour (obviously very similar to Bipolar)
    – Very intense emotions and mood swings which don’t last very long (eg hours or a few days at most)…obviously this can happen with rapid cycling Bipolar too
    – History of self-harm and suicidal thoughts (these can tie in to many other mental health conditions, but professionals seem to base a lot on this…)

    It’s hard because they are similar. I think the main thing with BPD is the b&w thinking, fear of abandonment and intense yet short mood episodes. I didn’t feel BPD was right for me because my mood swings last weeks, if not months, and I don’t have b&w thinking. Hence the Bipolar diagnosis!

    These are some UK sites that might help:
    http://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/types-of-mental-health-problems/borderline-personality-disorder-bpd/about-bpd/#.Veb9eigUXnA
    http://www.nhs.uk/Conditions/Borderline-personality-disorder/Pages/Symptoms.aspx

    Hope this helps, and I’m sorry I’ve waffled on šŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for this. It’s the kind of explanation I’ve been needing to read.
      This is why they’ve primarily diagnosed me with both BP and BPD because my mood swings generally last about 2-3 weeks. But the rest of the symptoms you described definitely apply to me. Understanding now!
      Thank you so much for such a simplistic (definitely not rambling!) reply. Means a heck of a lot šŸ™‚

      • Oh awesome, I’m so glad you found it helpful šŸ™‚

        We just added a new puppy to the household so I’m overly tired and have a mushy brain – I was worried I’d read my comment back and it wouldn’t make sense hahaha!

      • I saw the pictures on your blog! So unbelievably gorgeous. I’m such a dog person. And super jealous of your new family member. My dog is 3 and I still get mushy puppy brain haha!

      • Hahaha aw thank you šŸ™‚ Our oldest is 5 years old and he still keeps us on our toes, he can be a right little sod when he’s bored but we love him for it šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

